Why Blog?

When I first mentioned to my mother that we were starting up Mama Might, she asked me why. “Do you feel like you’re offering some sort of service to the people who might read it?”

Huh. Service? No, not really. Entertainment? Maybe. Hopefully. A little.

I guess I hadn’t really considered that the why was so important. I just knew that I had things I wanted to say, and I had friends who had things they wanted to say, and all of us just needed a space in which to say them. The whole people-read-this-stuff part is just bonus.

I want to be able to write about things that interest me. I want a place to sound off when I’m cranky because being a mom is hard and so often thankless. I want a place to rave about how beautiful and amazing my children are, and how blessed I am (even when I’m so frequently ungrateful!) to be their mother.

ImageI want a place where I can come and share the big and little things that God is doing in my life and in my heart. I want to be goofy here, I want to be open, and real and vulnerable here. I want to share my best with you, and sometimes you’ll get glimpses of my worst, too.

And I hope for the same from the other Mamas who share in this place.

I want us to get to know each other here. I want us to grow in community, even if we’re separated by far too much land mass in real life. I want us to support and love each other here. I want us to share more laughs than tears, even if sometimes we laugh while we cry.

And you? What do you want? What do you want to read about here? What would you like to share about here?

One thought on “Why Blog?

  1. That’s beautiful. You have explained yourself perfectly. I am past the baby stage and into the teenage years with my two boys but still remember how incredibly hard and yet amazing that stage was. I look forward to reading your stories.

Leave a Reply

